Links

World News Media Congress: Media Viability Session (Sept. 2022)

UNESCO, WAN-IFRA, and the Global Forum for Media Development are joining forces to organize a knowledge exchange between organizations providing media viability assistance and industry representatives
Keep The Lights On And The News Flowing: An exchange of tools, tactics and financial strategies from donor funded projects to support viable media businesses
Date: 28 September, 2022
Time: 10:30 - 12:30 CEST / 9:30 - 11:30 BST / 5:30 - 7:30 ET
Format: In-person (Zaragoza, Spain)
This knowledge exchange is a side event to the World News Media Congress which runs from September 28 to 30 in Zaragoza, Spain.

Speakers

  • Jason Lambert, Senior Director of Media Business, Internews
  • Joan Chirwa, Founder, Free Press Initiative
  • Joanna Krawcyk, President of the Board
  • Gazeta Wyborcza, Foundation
  • Ruth Kronenburg, Executive Director, Free Press Unlimited
  • Lisa MacLeod, Principal Publishing Lead of the Sustainability Study project, Financial Times

Provisional Agenda

Consultations about media viability and the impact of the different approaches have taken place in a variety of platforms, but require greater involvement of independent media and news publishers. This gap will be addressed specifically in a knowledge exchange on Media Viability at the 2022 WAN-IFRA World News Media Congress.

Discussion (10:30 - 11:30)

Moderated discussion on the application of media development organizations’ media viability approaches and tools, incl. feedback from news industry.

Knowledge Exchange (11:30-12:30)

Knowledge Exchange on how to match knowledge needs with knowledge supply on media viability.